NDSEG Winners

Following are the 2000-2001 winners of the National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowships. Winners are listed by their graduate institutions, with their undergraduate institutions in parentheses.

Brown University
Russell Bent (University of Rochester)

California Institute of Technology
Matthew Allen (Purdue University)
Catharine Larsen (University of California, Irvine)
Robert Moeller (University of Southern California)
Richard Wirz (Virginia Tech)

Carnegie Mellon University
Paul Carpenter (University of Tulsa)
Rose Hoberman (University of Texas)

Clemson University
Jason Keen (Clemson University)

Columbia University
Brian Carter (University of Georgia)
Etay Ziv (Yale University)

Cornell University
James Fogg (Cornell University)
Thomas Reynolds (University of California, Riverside)
Roland Roeder (San Diego State University)

Georgia Institute of Technology
Christina Robinson (Georgia Institute of Technology)

Harvard University
Christopher Calderone (University of Chicago)
James Carey (University of Michigan)
Peter Lu (Princeton University)
Randall Martin (Cornell University)
Jonathan Miller (Stevens Institute of Technology)
Andrew Neitzke (Princeton University)
Christopher Slowe (Harvard University)
Claire Tseng (Harvard University)
Jay Vaishnav (University of Maryland)

Indiana University
Marcia Wilt (John Carroll University)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Antonio Abad (Georgia Institute of Technology)
Aaron Aguirre (University of Michigan)
David Badre (University of Michigan)
Stephen Buerger (University of Dayton)
Benjamin Connell (Middlebury College)
Jay Dryer (U.S. Naval Academy)
Ayres Fan (University of Minnesota)
Michael Korn (Princeton University)
David Krodel (Northwestern University)
Jessica Lai (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Mathew Lichter (Penn State University)
Conor Madigan (Princeton University)
Garry Maskaly (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Joshua McDermont (Harvard University)
Rex Min (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Sumita Pennathur (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Hanfei Shen (University of Michigan)
Ellen Siem (Northwestern University)
Sheri Simmons (Princeton University)
Travis Simpkins (Case Western Reserve University)
Ken Takusagawa (Stanford University)
Matthew Walter (University of Illinois)
Peter Wu (University of California, Berkeley)

New York University
Brian Lau (University of California, Berkeley)

Ohio State University
Douglas Dietz (Ohio State University)
Darren Krasny (Ohio State University)

Princeton University
Troy Abe (Columbia University)
Cara Cartwright (University of North Carolina)
Leonard Cassady (University of Michigan)
David Karig (Clemson University)
Jacob Lurie (Harvard College)
Jackson Mayo (Muhlenberg College)
David Penry (Case Western Reserve University)
Ryan Reynolds (University of Kansas)

Stanford University
Keith Amonlirdviman (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Robert Candler (Auburn University)
Andrew Carver (Duke University)
David Chen (University of California, Berkeley)
Sarah Dean (Duke University)
Randal Grow (Colorado College)
Seth Guikema (Stanford University)
Jeffrey Jacobs (Utah State University)
Ryan Lowe (University of California, San Diego)
Julia Miyaoka (California Polytechnic State University)
Evelyn Wang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Stevens Institute of Technology
Anne Pence (Webb Institute)

Texas A&M University
Garrett Olsen (Texas A&M University)

University of Arizona
Leslie Hsu (Harvard University)

University of California, Berkeley
Eric Carleton (University of Missouri)
Emory Chan (Stanford University)
Kevin Chen (Princeton University)
Elaine Cheong (University of Maryland)
Samit Dasgupta (Harvard University)
Ron Fertig (Princeton University)
Henry Fu (Harvard University)
Robert Kraig (Case Western Reserve University)
Robert Reed (University of Arkansas)
Brian Spears (University of Texas)
Cameron Whitehouse (Rutgers University)

University of California, Los Angeles
Zachary Bell (University of California, Berkeley)
Marc DeVincentis (University of Virginia)

University of California, San Diego
Brian Clement (California Polytechnic State University)

University of California, San Francisco
Matthew Caywood (Harvard University)

University of California, Santa Barbara
Ilan Ben-Yaacov (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Jeffrey Endelman (Northwestern University)
Benjamin Haskell (Case Western Reserve University)
Mark Snyder (Alfred University)

University of Colorado, Boulder
Kathryn Johnson (Clarkson University)

University of Florida
Jeffrey Miller (University of Wisconsin)

University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign
Steve Chin (University of Illinois)
Laura Kolb (Lycoming College)
Joseph Lambert (University of Illinois)

University of Michigan
Ryan Sun Chee Fore (University of Michigan)

University of Missouri, Rolla
Steven Alferink (University of Missouri)

University of Pennsylvania
Amanda Lawrence (North Carolina State University)

University of South Florida
L. Kellie Dixon (Emory University)

University of Washington
Kimberly Comstock (Pennsylvania State University)
Eric Ellsworth (Yale University)
Susan Lang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Aaron Shon (University of Virginia)

University of Wisconsin - Madison
Karen Bottom (Louisiana Tech University)
Timothy Denehy (University of Dayton)
Scott Lefurgy (University of Michigan)
Jeffrey Maxwell (University of California, Davis)

Postdoctoral Fellowships for Minorities

The Ford Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowships for Minorities, administered by the National Research Council, are offered to outstanding researchers and scholars who are members of underrepresented minority groups. These fellowships are offered only to individuals who are U.S. citizens or nationals and who are members of the following groups: Native American Indians, Mexican Americans, Alaskan natives, Native Pacific Islanders, Black/African Americans, and Puerto Ricans. Applicants need to have earned a Ph.D. or Sc.D. from a U.S. educational institution no earlier than January 8, 1994, and no later than February 28, 2001, in a field supported by this program. Funding for fellows includes a $35,000 stipend, along with a travel and cost-of-research allowance. The application deadline is January 8, 2001. For more information, please see: http://national-academies.org/osep/fo. Grants Available for Inventors The National Collegiate Inventors and Innovators Alliance is seeking proposals that support innovation, invention, and entrepreneurship programs in U.S. colleges and universities. Grants support student inventions and projects, and faculty course development. The deadline for applications is May 15, 2001. For more information, please see: www.nciia.org , or e-mail: info@nciia.org.

more ASEE today articles: International News, Call for Papers, About People